Search
Gaucher Association Logo

Promoting awareness, pioneering research and providing support and information for those affected by Gaucher disease.

New Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham

The Department of Endocrinology at UHB provides a clinical service for the diagnosis, assessment and treatment of adult patients with inherited metabolic diseases (IMDs).

The IMD Service was officially launched in December 2008 and consists of a multidisciplinary team lead by consultants in IMD, metabolic dieticians and nurse specialists. The IMD service is fully supported by other specialities including heart, liver, kidney, neurology, genetics and rehabilitation services. The adult metabolic service is also closely linked to Birmingham Children’s Hospital (BCH) metabolic unit.

Referrals are received from the Midlands area for adult patients with inherited metabolic conditions, including those with:
Biochemical defects in carbohydrate
Amino acid and fat metabolism
Lysosomal storage diseases
Mitochondrial disease
Organic acidemia
Urea cycle disorders
Lipid disorders

As a team, we are available to answer questions about your condition and provide support if you have any general concerns about your health.

If you wish to ask a range of questions or discuss your health in detail and prefer to call a landline telephone, please call on Monday, Wednesday or Thursday morning when all staff are in the office.

General queries

Telephone: 0121 627 2000, extension. 53286

To contact an individual member of the Inherited Metabolic Disorder service, please use the details below:

Dr Tarek Hiwot, Inherited Metabolic Disorder Consultant
Email: Tarekegn.Geberhiwot@uhb.nhs.uk

Jane Lodwig, Specialist Nurse:
Telephone: 07825 273 862
Email: Jane.Lodwig@uhb.nhs.uk

Louise Robertson, Dietician:
Telephone: 07799 038 656
Email: Louise.Robertson@uhb.nhs.uk

Sarah Boocock, Dietician:
Telephone: 07799 038656
Email: Sarah.Boocock@uhb.nhs.uk

Kate Peers, Clinical Nurse Specialist in LSD:
Telephone: 07920 278111
Email: Katherine.Peers@uhb.nhs.uk

Liz Alister, LSD Co-ordinator:
Telephone: 0121 627 2000, extension. 53286
Email: Liz.McAlister@uhb.nhs.uk

Rishender Singh, Metabolic Pharmacist:
Email: Rishender.Singh@uhb.nhs.uk

All of the above numbers have voicemail, please leave your message and phone number so we can call you back.