Alan Gordon award

The Alan Gordon Memorial Award was established in memory of our first treasurer, Alan Gordon, who died in December 1995. Alan and his wife Gloria were founding members of the Gauchers Association.

The award is given approximately every two years and recognises people who have made a significant contribution both to Gaucher disease and to Gaucher patients.

Nominations in writing are invited from anyone either working, or involved personally or professionally with Gaucher disease. The successful recipient will receive a framed certificate and a monetary award.

Please send your nominations to Jane Jones, Chief Executive, at

Past recipients of the Alan Gordon Memorial Award –

1997 Dr. Pramod Mistry Royal Free Hospital, London (now Professor of Paediatrics and Medicine at Yale School of Medicine)

1998 Dr. Terry Butters & Dr. Fran Platt – Oxford Glycobiology Institute

2001 Tanya Collin-Histed – Neuronopathic Patient Representative (now Chief Executive)

2003 Professor Ari Zimran & Dr. Debby Elstein – Shaare Zedek Medical Centre, Jerusalem

2006 Professor Hans Aerts, Amsterdam Medical Centre, The Netherlands

2010 Professor Carla Hollak, Amsterdam Medical Centre, The Netherlands

2012 Lysosomal Storage Disorder Clinical Nurse Specialist Team, Great Ormond Street Hospital, London

2015 Dr Ashok Vellodi ,Great Ormond Street Hospital, London 

The next Alan Gordon Memorial Award will be made in 2017.